AGG Software Forums
February 17, 2020, 05:19:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome on our forum!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Boss 8 What are the steps to run large G code file?  (Read 26283 times)
stephenwinter
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« on: April 03, 2009, 05:04:18 AM »

I have a Bridgeport Boss 8 and I want to run a program larger than the memory I have on the machine. Can someone direct me to a step by step button by button description of how to do this. I have downloaded the DNC software but I am having a bit of difficulty getting it to load a file to run. I presently load files through port A using the EDIT function of the machine.
Steve
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 772



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 07:28:18 AM »

1. Please, activate hardware and software flow control within our software (http://www.aggsoft.com/cnc-dnc/bridgeport-boss-8.htm);
2. Use a cable with flow control support;
3. Use the Port B;
4. Select the "DNC" input protocol in the menu;
5. Use the trial version of our software (not free version).

Logged
stephenwinter
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2009, 04:53:20 PM »

I can copy files into the DNC folder but I do not see them when I want to transmit a G code file. I think it wants an .nc file extension, VisualCam posts a .txt file.

1) Can a .txt file be used? Can a .txt file be converted?

2) When I transmit the one .nc file it sees I get a 0040 error, what should I try.

3)On the Boss 8 It says load and gives me a choice of selecting DNC and when I push EXECUTE the Boss  puts an asterisk after the DNC. Should I see a response on the computer running DNC? At the bottom of the DNC program I see data being loaded but shouldn't the mill start doing something? I just get the ERROR message.

4) I have a 12,000 character limit on the machine, is the DNC limited by that?
Steve
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 772



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 05:10:46 PM »

1) Can a .txt file be used? Can a .txt file be converted?

Yes, you can. Simply specify this extension within the program options (Options->Manual mode->Directories and files->File extensions). The program can't convert files and supposes that the file contains the G code program.

2) When I transmit the one .nc file it sees I get a 0040 error, what should I try.

I'm sorry, I don't know what this error means. Please, refer to a machine manual.

3)On the Boss 8 It says load and gives me a choice of selecting DNC and when I push EXECUTE the Boss  puts an asterisk after the DNC. Should I see a response on the computer running DNC? At the bottom of the DNC program I see data being loaded but shouldn't the mill start doing something? I just get the ERROR
message.

It is possible something wrong your program. Please, try to send something simple like:

%
O00001
(TEST)
%

4) I have a 12,000 character limit on the machine, is the DNC limited by that?

Our DNC software doesn't have such limitation.
Logged
stephenwinter
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2009, 05:47:05 PM »

I do appreciate your prompt reply. I found Options->Manual mode->Directories and files->File extensions and added .txt. I closed the program and opened it again and the changes remained. I can see in the DNC directory the .txt file but when I go to Transmit and click .txt there is nothing there. When I click show all files it only shows the one .nc file. I tried saving it at the bottom of the DNC screen to the ini file but I could not find an option to use it. I have used notepad to try to save the little test file you sent but it does not show up either.
Steve
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 772



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2009, 06:05:02 PM »

Please, look at the attached image and verify your settings. I've tested it and the program allows to open txt files.


* s1.JPG (43.77 KB, 537x460 - viewed 9 times.)
Logged
stephenwinter
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2009, 06:46:46 PM »

I got it to accept files by un-checking the box that prohibited from loading files from other directories. I am getting the error message and I am concerned about the Serial Cable. It is a standard 9 pin serial port on the computer and on the mill it is an 8 port  RS-422 which the manual says has built in Dnc loading. What pin arrangement to pin arrangement  should it have?

Steve
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 772



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2009, 07:01:04 PM »

RS424 and RS232 are different port types. You can't connect it directly.
Logged
stephenwinter
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2009, 10:00:00 AM »

I am confused. First people connect them all the time. I connect to the A port with a serial cable and load small files into my machine all the time but not DNC as yet. The Bridgeport Boss mills do not have the common serial ports that you find on every computer. My question is this. What type of connection and how do people use your program to communicate with the Boss 8?
Steve
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 772



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2009, 09:06:37 PM »

Ok. In this case connect your machine via Port A and use the DNC mode on this port. I'm sorry, I can't answer your question precisely, because we develop software only and we have instructions that I've post above.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines