AGG Software Forums
May 16, 2021, 01:35:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome on our forum!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: COM Port is closed  (Read 853 times)
kensoni
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: November 18, 2020, 01:32:16 PM »

I am using the trial Advance Serial Data Logger.
I have a thermal printer using serial port and normally work.

When I install ASDL success and I configuration Serial Port, I see message "COM3 is closed."
Can you give me how to configuration or what must I do.

Thanks for your help.
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 806



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 02:07:14 PM »

Hello,

If the COM port is already used for a printer, our software cannot connect to it. You may try the "Spy" mode, but I'm not sure.
Logged
kensoni
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2020, 05:19:17 AM »

When I enable spy mode, a blue screen of death appeared. I had to reboot a few times. But I still get the same message.

After I can open soft, I see message "Starting the program" and no more works.
Although I changed the printer's configuration to let COM be free and then started the software.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2020, 05:22:20 AM by kensoni » Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 806



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2020, 07:28:30 AM »

Unfortunately, our software cannot help in the Spy mode.

Is it possible you can use a special monitor cable?
https://www.aggsoft.com/rs232-pinout-cable/serial-port-monitor-cable.htm

But in this case, you need two COM ports on your computer (one for a printer and another for captured data).
Logged
kensoni
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2020, 09:30:42 AM »

So, if I remove printer and connect ASDL to COM, reconnect printer? Do this work for me?
Logged
Arthur Grasin
Tech. Support
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 806



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2020, 09:58:29 AM »

Sorry, but I cannot answer precisely. It is necessary to try.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines